Do Some Good

I’ve been feeling awful lately.  Both my body and my mind have been trying to tell me something.  I mean, seriously, last week I actually had a full-blown panic attack:  chest pain, shortness of breath, racing heart, and the feeling that I was going to die a young death.  OK, so EKG and multiple doctors later, I realize that not only to do I have anxiety, but also acid reflux, which is what spawned the stupid panic attack.  The pain in my chest coupled with the severe anxiety that I’d been feeling earlier in the day caused me to feel and think I was having a heart attack.  It’s pretty much been a wake up call.  I have been feeling like crap both mentally and physically, because I’ve been eating like crap and not exercising at all.  So, I just decided that instead of popping some pills, I’m going to try to do what my body just shouted out to me…

It’s amazing the difference some yoga and a salad will do.  All I did were 10 sun salutations twice over the weekend and I’m already feeling calmer and more like myself.  Plus, I’ve eaten more veggies in the last two days than I have in months, and what do you know? My tummy is improving! (I have to be honest, Prevacid has helped, too).  I’m still not 100%, but I know I will be.  And, isn’t that what makes life easier? Just knowing we will be OK.

In the words of Honest Abe, “When I do good, I feel good.  When I do bad, I feel bad.  That is my religion”.  So, in my plans to do good, I’m making positive changes.  I’m not committing to some kind of blog series, or anything like that.  But for now, I’ve got goals and I figure this is my blog, so I can just use this as my diary.  I’m starting small because a little at a time is best for me.  It’s all about baby steps.  Slow cooker versus microwave.

My goals for this week:

Body/Mind

yoga/medidation: 3 days

cardio: 3 days

salad for lunch, fruit for snacks: as many days as possible

Leave a Reply

