Be You-tiful

So, while I haven’t finished wrapping up my current project, I do have time to show off one of the mini projects that’s going into the room. (Install is due for next week, so expect before/after photos).

My client is a good friend of mine, hired to help her makeover her two daughters’ new room.  She wanted an inspirational piece of art, and this is what I came up with.  I hope it fits the bill.

Here’s how I did it:

1. First, I determined the size of my board based on that I was using 1″ x 6″ boards (I used three boards, thus ending up with 18″ width).  Then, I cut the boards to length (I cut mine 24″) and attached them at the back using 1″ x 2″s and screws.  Pardon the mismatched woods, but I was using scrap…

2.  Next, I painted the front of the sign board white (this is going to end up being the color of your letters)…

3.  Once dry, it’s time to put the letters on.  I bought some adhesive letters at Michael’s when I did the sign in my breakfast room, and I had some leftover.  (I’ve also found that if you put them on wax paper you can reuse them).  Anyways, they come in different sizes and fonts.  These are the 4″ ones.   I just eyeballed the placement, but you can use a ruler if you aren’t so confident in your skills…

4.  Since I knew I wanted “YOU” to have a funky-colored effect, I traced the letters with a pencil, then removed the stickers.  Then, I used acrylic paints and just painted, drizzled, and swirled the colors together, staying as close to the inside of the lines as possible, but trying to create a random pattern of color…

5.  Once dry, put the letters back on and get your spray paint.  I only had gloss, but would prefer a satin finish.  No biggie, I can be flexible.  I gave it a nice coating, as I’m impatient and didn’t feel like doing several light coats.  I wasn’t going for a perfect finish here, so I figured that would suffice.  Anyways, while the paint is still wet, peel off the letters…

6.  After the paint dried, I took some chalk and wrote out “tiful”.  I had to re-do it a few times, but I just used a damp paper towel to erase it and started over. No biggie…

7.  Then, I took my white craft paint and a small paint brush and painted along my chalk line…

8.  Once dry, I took some 320 grit paper and gave the whole board a light sanding, just to scuff it up a bit and remove some of that gloss…

And, there you have it.  I think it delivers a pretty inspirational message.  I just can’t wait to see it in the finished space.

One thought on “Be You-tiful

Leave a Reply

