Free to Shop

So, after a week with no kids, I’ve got a lot to share.  The wee ones were spending a week in Tulsa with the in-laws (they are the main reason I married my hubby), so I had some free time to get out and about.  My main objective was to finish up some details for my nephew’s nursery, but seeing as how I don’t have a one-track mind, I totally got sidetracked.  Now, I’m going to make you scroll through lots of pics of what I found.  Who knows, maybe you’ll see something that makes you flip.

Now, let me forewarn you: not everything I found was a steal, or even inexpensive.  As a matter of fact, since I did have so much free time, I decided to venture down to some of my old stomping grounds (the land of no budget).  I did find a few good deals, but other things like this Murano glass chandelier had to make the cut, just because of the sheer beauty.  At $1,200 it’s not cheap, but you can bet it would totally make a room…

Another high-end beauty was this American made library chest.  I cannot describe to you how wonderful it was in person.  If I had $3,750 to spend on a piece of furniture I would have bought it.  This piece was so well crafted and aged with the warm finish, green interior, and those amazing leaded doors.  Drool, drool, drool…

From the same store, I also found this antique drum.  It was made from a hollowed-out tree trunk and hide.  Real deal, folks.  For years I’ve been looking for an old drum to use as a side table (add a base and glass top) for next to Gilby’s chair.  It seemed like fate, except it was $150, which wasn’t in my pocket.  So, for now it will remain in my dreams…

More in keeping with my budget was this cool Mid-Century starburst clock.  It was only $39 but I really don’t have a spot for it right now.  Know anyone who does?  Call me…

 

How about this cute little marble-topped table?  It was only $35 and I loved the green painted finish…

So, this wall-hanging doesn’t fit my style, but I appreciated it for it’s beauty.  It would be stunning on a large wall in a more traditional home.  The colors were great, and though I didn’t open it up to see the whole thing, it’s quite large and in good condition.  At $90 it’s a great deal for a large piece of art…

This antique buffet was so well made and the finish was beautiful.  It’s $495 and well worth it for the quality.  It would be great in a dining room, family room, or even a bedroom…

This old gun cabinet was one of my other favorites.  It has great potential for storage in an entryway.  Remove the gun holders and replace them with hooks for backpacks or jackets.  It was marked $160, but I’m sure I could score it for less (note the 25% off sign)…

I also saw potential in this old open frame.  It was very big and ornate.  It could be made into a mirror, or you could hang a plate or some other special object in the center, and it would be an eye-catching piece of art.  $45…

Here’s the one thing that came home with me.  Gilby has been wanting a new nightstand for a while, and this one is totally his style.  Mid-century goodness and only $35!  I’ll have to take a picture of it in it’s new home and post that later…

Another lighting option was this black and brass chandelier.  It’s $185, so it’s comparable in price to something you may find at a big-box store, but if you ask me it’s got more character.  And, it’s definitely more unique…

I really fell in love with this clock.  Again, it’s not necessarily my style, but it was only $25 and it was so pretty.  I want to give it a good home.  Know anyone?  Call me…

Well, I did see lots of other things, but that’s all I’m going to leave you with for today.  Did you see anything that you would love in your home?

Check back later this week and I’ll share some of the fabrics that I found that got my motor running.  Have a good one!

Peace,

C

 

Leave a Reply

