Christmas: My Home

I finally got through most of my Christmas decorating.  I use the word “finally”, but it’s only Dec. 10th.  That’s not that far behind, right?  We have a “thing” against decorating before Thanksgiving.  But, Thanksgiving was so early this year, that we decided we had to wait until Dec. 1st to start decorating.  I have been piddling around so far, but this weekend we got our tree(s) up and it’s now starting to feel like Christmas.

036This is our first year to have two trees.  It all sort of started when we were standing in our front yard trying to figure out our plans for the outside of the house.  We decided that a tree would look pretty from the outside of the house (it does!)  if we put one in the playroom window.  Once the kids got wind of that, they weren’t going to let us get away without one.  So, out we went to Lowe’s and a day later, it’s my favorite thing in our house.  They used all of our special ornaments, first ornaments and handmade ornaments.  They worked so hard on it together, and they even strung their own lights!

116I remember when I was a kid, my parents put up a “kid tree” in our playroom and we loved it.  I’m thinking we may get an artificial tree for the coming years so we can easily continue this tradition.

Downstairs, I went for simple decorating.  I wanted to use what we had, which includes old family pieces like this skating rink from my grandmother.  Avery and Finn got to work immediately setting it up only to find out it no longer works.  We all agreed it would stay out just as decoration, though.

008090Have you ever considered how much you spend on gift wrap?  I have, and it’s a LOT.  This year, I decided to go with classic brown paper ($1 for 5 yards at Dollar Tree) and just use leftover ribbons, and inexpensive trinkets and bows for decorations.  The end result is so simple that it’s beautiful.

040

075Ted is sporting a bow, and he and sleeping Santa (another of my kids’ favorite hand-me-down Christmas goodies from Grandmother) are holding fort by the fireplace, where I spotted the first Christmas letter.

074Our fireplace is simple, with the nutcracker that Avery and I got from the show this year, and all of our stockings none of which match.  Who cares?  It doesn’t have to be perfect to be perfect.

098And things as simple as a bowl of red apples on the table.  Though year-round for us, they do take on a special Christmas-y feel with the backdrop of lights.

106086My kitchen doesn’t get overdone at the holidays, because I just don’t have the space due to all of the baking and candy-making that I like to do.  We are starting on our gingerbread house today which means my house is getting ready to smell like Christmas too.  I’m starting to get very jolly.  (I’ll post photos and recipes this week).

020Coming up:  I’m working on our gingerbread house/village, which will sit on the piano, beneath this urn-stick-tree thing (lovely term, huh?) that I’ve been working on.  And, I’ll be working on our place settings for Christmas dinner using these wonderful glasses that I scored for $3 (set of 6) at the ACO a couple of weeks ago.  Don’t they just scream Christmas?

111Until next time, stay merry and bright.  I’ll be back in a few days with some gingerbread baking photos and a (hopefully) completed place setting to share.

Peace,

C

Leave a Reply

